In the beginning…

I met BabyDaddy when I was twenty-five and knew straight away that I would marry him and have his babies. I married him two years later and another two and a half years after that I gave him a son.

Now I’m thirty and I’m finding my way through the muddy waters of parenthood by watching those (younger) Mums around me, listening to (some of) the things my own Mum tells me, and occasionally (often) googling the things I’m a tiny bit anxious about.

I feel as though I was born to be a Mum but I know that feeling is heightened by the fact that I have such a happy, contented and generally good baby. Without wanting to raise the hackles of any Mums currently tearing their hair out Ted was sleeping for 4-5 hours at a time from a week old and has rarely cried. Now he’s twelve weeks old he’s sleeping through (but part of me is scared to say that in case he finds out and makes me pay…)

I’ve seen women struggle with PND and even post-natal psychosis so I know how lucky I am to have had nothing worse than baby blues. I think my fantastic birth, supportive family and happy baby had a lot to do with that, but they’ll come up in later posts.

I also think my happy baby was so chilled out because I was so chilled out, but again that might have been a chicken & egg situation (egg, by the way. It’s not that hard.)

So from here on in I’ll tell the tales of motherhood as they happen, partly so I can record the wonders of my boy’s life and my role in it, but also so that perhaps when other women are googling the same silly questions I’ve googled they’ll see this and know that they’re not alone.

And we’re not neurotic!

20111122-163225.jpg

About Stitches and Stretchmarks

Honest and frank Mum of one.
This entry was posted in Difficulties, Joys, Recommendations and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

