Introducing…

Today I went to QMC for my twenty week scan. It seems odd that this little one is already halfway through its journey but has only been glimpsed twice when we saw Ted at five, seven, eleven, thirteen and twenty weeks (as well as a few more after).

The sonographer today was absolutely amazing. I’ve never been able to fault the care at QMC but there were two scans with Ted that were memorable for the wrong reasons. This guy – Mr Spero (in case he ever googles his own name) – was everything you would want a sonographer to be. He was charming and friendly and cared that it was our baby, not just his job. He pointed out little details and played back a yawn. He showed us a close up of curling fingers. He showed us the heart, brain and the chambers of each. He pointed out thumbs and toes and eyes. He showed us a little smile.

Baby wouldn’t stretch out well enough to check spinal development so we have to go back in a few weeks to have a closer look but everything else was perfect. Apparently the measurements from both my twelve week and twenty week scans suggest that I’m only nineteen plus five. Baby’s due right at the end of September so could even come in October.

I know half of you are only here to find out the answer to a certain question but you’ll just have to wait a bit longer…

Okay, okay, I’ll tell you…

We asked the lovely sonographer if he could tell us the baby’s sex and while part of me hoped we might have the decision taken away from us by a coy baby I was also happy when he told us what he could see…

Which was…

20130507-195752.jpg

Our son. Ted’s brother.

I might be terrified of the wrestling matches my nephews regularly stage and the likelihood that Ted & bellybean will do the same, but I’m also so proud to be giving Ted a little brother. If they’re as close as my nephews I’ll be really happy.

And anyway, girls are better as the third baby, right…?

About Stitches and Stretchmarks

Honest and frank Mum of one.
This entry was posted in Joys, Pregnancy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Introducing…

  1. Congratulations! He looks super adorable already

  2. Tamsin says:

    Awww… Congratulations! Pleased all is fine. There are two years between my boys and although they do wrestle and play fight, they really are best of friends. X

  3. alison says:

    Aww how lovely to be having a boy. My two nephews are so boisterous and loud but in between they do really lovely things for each other that shows their love. I’m sure your two boys will be just the same! Also it’s wonderful that he is developing well in there πŸ™‚

  4. Alyssa says:

    Boys are awesome πŸ™‚

  5. Sarah says:

    Yay team blue again

  6. Andrea says:

    How lovely! We had a nice Lady once who took around 10 shots and did prints for us but it sounds like your Guy really went above and beyond! Congrats on another Boy πŸ™‚

  7. Lucy says:

    Congratulations! I have two boys (4 and 1) and whilst I longed for a girl I can honestly say I wouldn’t change having 2 boys for anything! They are best of friends and share a really close bond, hearing them giggle together is the best noise ever! And being the only girl is pretty special too – they really look after me! Enjoy – you will love it Xxx

  8. Beth says:

    He is so handsome already! Congrats! ❀

Leave a Reply

