International Women’s Day 2014

In 2012 I wrote about International Women’s Day because I’d only just started to think about it and understand the significance. But I wrote that I wasn’t a feminist, found gender stereotyping in children to be acceptable and didn’t object to page three

Then I discovered that actually I was a feminist and didn’t approve of page three after all.

I started to realise that gender stereotyping was pushing our little girls further away from the goals we women have been fighting to achieve and that glamour models weren’t showing empowerment but exacerbating the expectations of how women should look and behave.

Do we need International Women’s Day?

Last year, when women were threatened with rape for speaking out, I started to fight back against slut-shaming and victim-blaming and using sexuality as control. Maybe my voice wasn’t very loud and maybe it was only heard by a few on Twitter, but every voice adds to the volume we need to break down stereotypes and expectations and the myth that we’re already equal.

So, yes. We do need International Women’s Day. And if you’re asking why there isn’t an International Men’s Day then you need International Women’s Day most of all.

About Stitches and Stretchmarks

Honest and frank Mum of one.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

