Craft: handmade calm-down jar

All two year olds have tantrums, I’m told. I don’t know how many two year olds really have tantrums because I’m always too busy wrangling my own to notice what anyone else is doing, but I’m going to go with all of them because it’s comforting.

I saw a post from a Facebook group recently about calm-down jars and thought it might be something that could work with Ted, because on top of just being two he also has the added frustrations of speech and language issues. If I can calm him down enough to talk more calmly that can only be a good thing.

I started out with a Jar Quest. I wanted something straight with a fitted lid, sturdy but not glass, and had no idea where to find one. My mum gave me a plastic container and I thought I’d give it a go. 20140520-210701-76021369.jpgNext I bought as much glitter as I could find and a friend gave me some food colouring. I hadn’t really worked out what I was doing with colours but thought I’d make it up as I went along. 20140520-210808-76088626.jpgI’d seen a calm-down jar with a Lego man in so I thought I’d try an animal in Ted’s. I chose a gorilla from his huge collection of animals because it was small and sturdy.

I didn’t really know what I was doing but thought I’d just make it up as I went along. I poured about 3/4 of a bottle of blue glitter glue and a shake (technical term) of silver and red glitter into the jar.

20140520-211049-76249442.jpgThen I added water, food colouring and the gorilla. It looked a bit like a lava lamp at that point and I just wanted to sit and watch it already.

20140520-211143-76303449.jpgThen the fun – the shaking! I discovered that the gorilla was too dark to be seen so I took it out and tried a zebra, but he was too light and floated to the top. At present the jar doesn’t have an animal but I might try something else. Maybe.

20140520-211258-76378831.jpgI felt as though everything was settling too quickly so I unscrewed the lid and added a bit more silver and red glitter, shook it up again and added more glitter glue. I’m leaving it for now so I can have a look at it tomorrow and see what I think, but it is very pretty.

20140520-212027-76827557.jpgIt remains to be seen whether it will have the desired effect of calming Ted down, but if not it might at least calm me down while I sit and rock in the corner.

Edit: the jar is leaking! I’m now on another Jar Quest. Suggestions welcome!

About Stitches and Stretchmarks

Honest and frank Mum of one.
This entry was posted in craft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

